I’m Not Gay, So Why Do I Care?

She said a lot.

Not Just A Blonde

Recently, after a fairly impassioned pro-gay rights rant I was asked by my husband: “You’re not gay, so why do you care?” He asked this not in a jerky-judgmental way, but in a I-don’t-know-why-you’re-so-worked-up kinda way. After all, I’m a legally married, heterosexual, middle-age, middle-class, mom. I live the American tradition. I teach Sunday School. I love Jesus. My life would not change directly one bit if gay marriage ever passes or not. What then is my problem?

Well, let’s start with a peek into the history books: Homosexual and transgender romantic love was not a cultural phenomenon in Biblical times. Same gender sex happened, sure! I’m not talking here about same gender lust… I am taking about romantic, committed, consensual love… a partnership, a family. Such an institution was not explored, not discussed… homosexual activity as condemned by early Christians was just about the sex.

Much research…

View original post 743 more words

One comment on “I’m Not Gay, So Why Do I Care?

  1. MyrtleMartha says:

    I seem to be having trouble leaving a comment, but I’ll try again. I’ve glad you reblogged this post. It was very meaningful to me. I hope you’ll also post the comment you made today on another blog post elsewhere about anger.

Leave a Reply

